Texas A&M Preview: More Of The Same?

Hello readers, I must apologise for not writing a Vanderbilt preview, as it simply slipped my mind. The game ended exactly how I thought it would, and I may have just sounded like a broken record anyways.

Moving on, Auburn’s four-game home-stand begins this saturday against Texas A&M, which will be only our third night game of the season. The Aggies are walking in off a tough loss to LSU last week, but will be looking to immediately rebound and get the season back on track.

A&M run a good offence, lead by Mr Johnny Football — a quarterback who has put up some insane numbers thus far this season (and may be the best we face all season period). A&M’s offence will be a tough job to stop, but this is another chance for Brian VanGorder to impress and hopefully give the offence a chance to win the game. With that being said, Auburn’s offence isn’t exactly stellar either, in fact quite the opposite. They rank 119th in the country, and are still struggling to find a quarterback, which has been the main theme of this programme since Cam left. Johnny Manziel himself is averaging 100 more yards per game than Auburn’s offence, that should tell you how good he is (or how bad we are).

We have struggled against dual-threat quarterbacks this season, which is my main concern going into this game. Manziel is second in the SEC in both rushing and passing, so we aren’t dealing with just another scrambling quarterback here. He is a legitimate talent that may have a lot of success against us come saturday.

If there is anything in our favour, it’s that this game will be at home with a loud crowd that is in our favour. Auburn found some success against LSU at home, could the same be done this time? For now, I’m skeptical, but I do like being surprised.

I hope I won’t be repeating myself come Monday when I review this game (that’s if I remember to do so), so I hope we really play well in this one. Again, I have no doubt in my mind that Chizik is gone once the regular season closes, but I’d like to save some face and go out with some dignity. But with upcoming games against Texas A&M, Georgia and Alabama, is that realistic?

In terms of replacements, that’s probably another post altogether. Should anything go down, I’ll address it and list who my favourites are to replace Gene Chizik.

That’s yer lot, have a good one.

About Ross Collings

It's the orange and blue I love. Big fan of the Auburn football program and university. Consider myself the biggest fan of them currently living and being from outside of the United States.

Posted on October 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

