Zeke Pike / Auburn shooting / Recruiting

Evening folks, hope you’re all well. I got back from my trip to the US a few weeks ago and I have to say that I had a blast. My cousin got married and I got to enjoy the warm weather, which is change from England I’ll tell ya’ that. But I’m counting the days until I return in August – that’s a fact. 

It’s certainly been a roller coaster summer thus far, but nothing will ever make up for the shooting that recently occurred on the Auburn campus. This post may be a tad late, but nevertheless, it’s horrible to hear about these things and be so far away. My prayers do go out to the victims family and friends and I hope those that were injured make a full recovery. I guess the only good news that came out of it was that the suspect turned himself in, even after all the attic shenanigans that took place in Montgomery.

In other news, Zeke Pike has reportedly been getting into some mischief as he’s been sent home by Chizik, after he was arrested for public intoxication. At first I didn’t think much of it, since most kids do and will continue to drink underage, the problem is that he did a little bit more which resulted in his exit. The question now is whether he can take on the test, step up and return a new man. His situation does hold some similarities to Dyer – through all his antics Chizik gave him an ultimatum which he decided not to meet, which resulted in his departure. Time will tell whether Pike will do the same, it’s up to him.

But, for now, it’s a good thing to keep him away from the team. Chizik wants the team to have zero distractions going into summer practice and I can definitely see the logic in keeping Zeke away from the team. I don’t think he’s a bad guy, far from it, but he clearly has some growing up to do. Chizik can’t make his job harder than it already is.

Other than that, it’s been a decent summer. Several Auburn commits took part in the Rivals Five-Star challenge and dominated, particularly Carl Lawson, who gained rave reviews after dominating some of the best players in the nation. It’s nice to hear that about a current commit, so I’m excited to see what he brings to the table once he arrives on campus, as with every other commit.

Anyway, that’s yer’ lot for now. Fingers crossed for a better second half of the summer.

About Ross Collings

It's the orange and blue I love. Big fan of the Auburn football program and university. Consider myself the biggest fan of them currently living and being from outside of the United States.

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

