Samford Preview: Time To Seal Our 7th Win + Return Of A Legend

Let me preface this article by saying there is no chance in hell we lose to Samford, through all the woes of our defense and the inconsistency of the offense, I don’t expect to lose to Samford.

Now that that’s out of the way, it’s time to preview our 11th game of the season. Can you believe it’s almost over? Many came into the season coming off the highs of the National Championship run of 2010, and may exit the season with a “brought back down to earth” feeling, including me. This season has had a lot of up and downs, and even though it’s unlikely, Auburn may still have one card left to play when Bama visits Jordan-Hare next saturday, who knows, we can dream right?

Samford visits Jordan-Hare this Saturday and it will be more of a return of a legend rather than an actual game, former Auburn great (Now Samford HC) Pat Sullivan makes his return to Jordan-Hare. I wasn’t alive in the 70s, heck my parents weren’t even together in the 70s, but from past research I can see that Sullivan is a great man and was a leader through and through, what I’d do to have a guy like him on our team this year!

As I said in the opening sentence, I don’t expect to lose to Samford and I think if we played a team full of freshman we still wouldn’t. Many point towards our struggles against Utah State and Fl. Atlantic but there is still a distinct difference between both sets of teams. The first set are still division one teams, and do have a handful of decent athletes, Samford on the other hand don’t have that luxury, and even though they may score some points on us, don’t be afraid of an upset.

Prediction: Auburn 38-19 Samford

I’m not sure where or when the points come from for Samford but I feel like they will come from somewhere. Last season we gave up 24 to Tenn. Chattanooga so I feel like we will give up points somewhere through the game. For Auburn, I hope we can score more than 38 points, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see us score less than that either. We will play a lot of freshman in this game, on both sides of the ball, so expect some mistakes.

For Auburn, gaining a 7th win and bouncing back after last weeks debacle will be important towards our bowl opportunities. A 7th win will likely give us the option of playing in Nashville, Atlanta or possibly even Tampa. I think our chances of playing in the Cotton Bowl and Capital One Bowl have evaporated, but it is what it is I suppose. Playing in a bowl game period will give us more practice time (as a team), which will do nothing but improve our orange and blue warriors.

I don’t have any preferences into who I want to play, because I’d take on any challenge (on behalf of Auburn) and so would Gene Chizik. We will prepare for any team the appropriate way, but the name that’s being floated around right now is Virginia Tech. I don’t mind the Hokies, and would gladly take the challenge to play them, even though they have a 6’6 Quarterback (gulp).

There isn’t much other news floating around right now, apart from the obvious scandals at Penn State, and now it seems, Syracuse.  I don’t want to go into these events much (or even at all) so I won’t blabber on about them, you have ESPN for that.

Have a good day guys.

About Ross Collings

It's the orange and blue I love. Big fan of the Auburn football program and university. Consider myself the biggest fan of them currently living and being from outside of the United States.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

