Bye Week Blues

Now is usually the time I preview our next opponent, but as you all know (unless you’ve been living under a rock) this week is Auburn’s bye. I’m usually glad to know I have a weekend without getting flustered or having a darn near heart-attack, but it is what it is and in a way I do miss not having a game to preview. Auburn football is like a wife, you may be dissatisfied with some things they do, get stressed out and what not, but you know deep down you love them unconditionally, and that means more than any old silly disagreements you may have.

For the team, getting a week off will be a nice needed rest as we enter the business end of the season. The team have earned a week off and they will spend it doing whatever they find relaxing, getting a fresh team back against Georgia will be big for the game, we will be playing on the road, against a team that will want revenge from last year, if we do win then prepare for the whiny Georgia fans to come out in forces and complain that Corey Lemonier broke Aaron Murray’s fingernail.

Ok enough of the sloppy stuff, the next three weeks are going to seriously pull the heart strings of us all, so you better be prepared for it, I hope we can finish the season on a strong and positive note, and getting two wins out of the next three games would do that. Beating ONE of Georgia or Alabama shouldn’t be that much to ask (though I put more money on beating Georgia right now), finishing the season 8-4 is what I predicted back in August and if we meet that expectation then I feel many of us will go into bowl-season satisfied with how the season went.

It also looks like ESPN’s “Roll Tide, War Eagle” will be debuting on Tuesday at 8 ET (on ESPN), the documentary does looks quite good, according to the limited clips I’ve seen, including the trailer which can be seen here. It features former players such as Bo Jackson, Charles Barkley and Takeo Spikes, if you want to get a better idea of the show and whether to see it or not read WarBlogle’s thoughts on the show, which can be seen here.

If you don’t have your TV on CBS at 8 on Saturday night then you might as well just die, just kidding, the whole week has been full of talk of the match-up between LSU and Bama, both teams look very strong and if I had to give my prediction on who will win I’d have to say Bama. I will be rooting for LSU, but Bama has a great home record, and if it were being played in Death Valley then I may have a different opinion, but right now I will be preparing for a Bama victory, as well as preparing for most of the fans to get even more arrogant than they already are. Not to say I don’t think LSU can win, they match up very well to Bama and I wouldn’t be surprised to see them win, but you just never know in games like this.

That’s about it, it was a short post but bye weeks give me hardly anything to talk about. If you haven’t yet listened to this week’s edition of Britcast then I implore you do so, just click here. It’s basically me chatting away in my British accent, but of course you have heard a British person discuss Auburn football before haven’t you? (oops)

Have a good weekend.

About Ross Collings

It's the orange and blue I love. Big fan of the Auburn football program and university. Consider myself the biggest fan of them currently living and being from outside of the United States.

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

