Monday Blog: Samford Review, Iron Bowl Ramblings + BCS Clusterbomb

I wasn’t originally that motivated to do a Samford review, but I figured I should do one, mixed with other random stuff as I’m more excited about previewing the Iron Bowl, more than reviewing a game against a division two team. 

Iron Bowl Week is officially here, where arguments and bammer arrogance is at an all-time high, combined with Thankgiving and Black Friday, overall it’s a pretty hectic week. GameDay is also on it’s way to the plains for the first time since 1996 (I think), when I heard the news it made this game even more important to me, I don’t get bammers giving me crap here in England, but as a true Auburn fan it’s always nice to have that peace of mind and satisfaction when you beat Alabama, as it is for fans everywhere when they beat their rivals.

According to most betting sites, the betting line for the Iron Bowl opened at -19.5, and rose up to 21.5 shortly after. I can’t say I’m surprised, every good team we have played this season has blown us out, and putting aside Auburn bias Bama does have a pretty good team this year. I’ll go more into the game this week, and I’ll make sure I have plenty to say, I always do every week.

Will GameDay be a distraction? Hopefully it will be a GOOD distraction, the team knows that this has become even more National, and destroying Bama’s National Title hopes once and for all in the National spotlight will be very satisfying to every Auburn fan out there, Auburn also haven’t lost a home game in 2 years, the team should be reminded of that come kick-off. Bammers also want revenge badly, and if they don’t get it…then Finebaum may be worth tuning into for the next week or so.

Meanwhile the BCS is in a tizzy yet again, with teams continuing to lose, it’s making the their job even harder to choose who take when the Selection Show comes, it’s incredible to think a 12-0 SEC Champion couldn’t make it in (in 2004), but a one loss (non-conference champion) can make it in, whether it’s Arky or Bama, incredible when you think about it. The BCS Poll LOVES Bama, hence their high ranking after they lost to LSU at home, that is keeping them float right now, BCS bias and all that *cough cough. Just don’t count out Arkansas, they will still have a say in this, trust me.

I just realised I haven’t made any mention to the Samford game as of yet, well in all honesty it was tough to watch. We came away with a 35-16 win but we didn’t seem to wake up and kick it up a notch until the second half, I didn’t feel like we were going to lose it, even though we were only up by four at one point, I was waiting for Auburn to get their heads in gear and it did eventually come. Better late than never I suppose.

That’s about it for now, it’s a short and quick blog yes but the best is yet to come when I do my first ever Bama preview on A Brit Of Orange And Blue, I can’t wait, can you? I bet you can’t…

Have a good day guys.

About Ross Collings

It's the orange and blue I love. Big fan of the Auburn football program and university. Consider myself the biggest fan of them currently living and being from outside of the United States.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Gameday was in Auburn for the 2006 Florida Game. 27-17 Auburn win.

    Great blog, by the way.

  2. Gameday was in Auburn for the Clemson game last year. This is the first Iron Bowl gameday since 96.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

